Video

Evaluation:

  • Objective of the task?      

In this task we had to create a promotional video, based around our band. It being a group project meant we all had our assigned roles in the group. I was the director, Andrew the camera man, Charley was the interviewer, Hayley was responsible for sound and Lily was on clapper board.

  •  Effectiveness of the group work?

Although we could not  all be present during the filming, we worked well in sorting out the location, band, time and equipment. I was the director, Andrew the camera man, Charley was the interviewer, Hayley was responsible for sound and Lily was on clapper board. Those who were not present  during the filming have  still put effort into the production side of the project. Myself, Charley and Andy worked well together in deciding who had what roles. During the production / filming we worked well as a group. We managed to film the band in time allocated and got out of the band what we expected.

  • What skills did you learn through this task?

I learnt how to work on schedule, work as a part of the team, make quick decisions, think on my feet, solve problems and how to tell my fellow pupils what to do in production. This project gave me an insight into what would be like working with a client.

  • What are the problems faced using your video skills and how did you solve them?

When it came to audio we encountered a few problems. We only had zoom recorder for sound recording, meaning we had to pass it around the band for them to answer each question, which made it look unprofessional. This would not happen if we had a good quality cardio or omnidirectional  microphone.

The contingency plan was to record each scene more than once, always play it back at the location in case it was needed to be re -recorded. We also used the zoom recorder and microphone on the camera for sound recording at all times  to ensure that we had good quality sound . This was successful as we could use the zoom sound we recorded in quieter surroundings, so that the interviewers questions were clear. We were fortunate that our band’s answers  were clear and recorded at good sound level, so we had no issue there.

I learned the importance of sound, and how the choice of location can effect the quality of sound. For my FMP I will have to pay particular attention to sound, as the location will mainly be outdoors, meaning I need to focus on my pickups and the sound in the background.

Visual problems we faced were that there was not enough room for the interviewer and the band to all be in the same frame and not to look too crammed. The contingency plan was to have it as a two people interview, so it would go back and fourth between the interviewer and the band. This helped, as it was easier to edit and focus on the entire look of the band. I have learnt that you need to focus on every aspect of your location for example what is in the background (posters, pictures, signs) that can destruct viewer or be offensive or impropriate. The lighting of the location is also very important as too little or too much light can affect the quality of the video.   I can develop my skills in my FMP, by using different lenses to get a more urban effect for my FMP film. Use ‘steadycam’ or experiment with attaching camera to skateboarder leg or camera on the helmet to get dynamic action shots.

  • What was the feedback from your tutor and peers?

The feedback provided us with an idea what to do differently in the future. We should made sure to have an establishing shot at the beginning of the interview  with all band members and the interviewer together to introduce the viewer to the scene. We should of plan better shots and more variety of shots throughout the interview. The room was dark and the quality of the footage suffered due to that. In the future we should consider bringing additional / portable lighting kit to get the better quality of footage.

  • Areas for improvement;

Next time we should think more about our location and do more research on it, so we are prepared. We should have better sound equipment to ensure that the picks up patterns are good and that our band doesn’t have too pass a microphone around.

Radio

Evaluation:

  • Objective of the task? 

In this task we had to create a radio podcast show focused around our band. It being a group project meant we all had our assigned roles in the group. We used the same opportunity while we where recording the video interview to record our radio piece as well.

  •  Effectiveness of the group work?

The sound quality that we recorded was good, which enabled  us to edit sound successfully in post production.

  • What skills did you learn through this task?

I learnt how to communicate with a group of loud people and to get them to listen to me, as a director. I learnt the importance of sound recording and how to obtain the good sound.

  • What are the problems faced using your skills and how did you solve them?

When it came to audio we encountered a few problems. We only had zoom recorder for sound recording, meaning we had to pass it around the band for them to answer each question, which made it look unprofessional. This would not happen if we had a good quality cardio or omnidirectional  microphone. In the future I will make sure to book out the appropriate sound recording equipment. I will also make sure that the equipment is available on the date of the recording. Otherwise, I will research and ask around to borrow the equipment from some of my friends who do sound recording.

The contingency plan was to take my own camera in case if something goes wrong during the production process. This proved to be a good idea, as the college camera run out of memory. By using my own camera and zoom recorder we ensured that in each shot sound was recorded double ( on camera and on zoom recorder). At the end the sound recorded by zoom was much better quality, so we used it in post production.

  • What was the feedback from your tutor and peers?

Tom’s feedback was to use a more suited background music. To listen better for cuts, such as the one a 1:28. Then finally for the interviewer to sound more enthusiastic when talking to the band.

 Areas for improvement;

  • In the future I will make sure to book out the appropriate sound recording equipment. I will also make sure that the equipment is available on the date of the recording. Otherwise, I will research and ask around to borrow the equipment from some of my friends who do sound recording.  
  • For my FMP I will make sure to have the right sound recording equipment for the job. I will probably book various microphones and test them out on the location before the filming. It is an outdoor location therefore I will make sure to use windshield on the microphone as well to prevent any sound interference.

 

Links for extra sounds and images:

http://media.prorl.co.uk/images/10397.jpg  (3/1/2016)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b27-QNcD3hM  (3/1/2016)

 

Social Media Platform

Untitled-12

Evaluation

  • Objective of the task?      

The objective of the task was to make a web page, promoting the band.

  •  Effectiveness of the group work?

I worked on my own on this part of the project. I researched number of other bands websites to get an idea how other bands promote themselves. I believe that I managed to produce an effective website that reflects the genre of music and image of my band.

  • What skills did you learn through this task?

This task enabled me to expand my creative skills in Adobe Photoshop. How to use my more creative side in designing the page and seeing what fits well all together. This is just an idea how the potential website might look like.

  • What are the problems faced using your skills and how did you solve them?

The real issue is how to make my promotional video and radio blog accessible to band’s audience. The solution to this problem was adding my links to bend’s social media platform, which is now happened.

  • What was the feedback from your tutor and peers?

I got a good feedback, as the site promotes the band and their music well.

  • Areas for improvement;

To develop my Adobe Photoshop skills further, which will help me to get more professional looking end product.

Links for Images used:

http://www.thewrap.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/twitter-logo-618-340×300.jpg  (3/1/2016)

https://www.youtube.com/yt/brand/media/image/YouTube-logo-full_color.png  (3/1/2016)

http://beach-aruba.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/facebook-logo.png  (3/1/2016)

https://impuritas.bandcamp.com/  (3/1/2016)

http://www.wallpapersbyte.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/Black-Dark-Rough-Texture-Coal-Like-Pattern-Abstarct-WallpapersByte-com-3840×2400.jpg  (3/1/2016)

 

 

Leave a Reply

